Art Zaanstad

Jahre
2017

Location
Zaandam

Client
Stiftung Artzaanstad

Umnutzung einer alten Fabrikhalle zu einem flexiblen Ausstellungsraum für die Kunstbibliothek Art Zaanstad.

Das Hembrug-Gelände mit einer ausgeprägten Industrie-Architektur ist ein einzigartiger Ort in Zaandam. Die 'draaierij kardoeshulzen', auch 'Gebäude 322' genannt, besteht aus zwei Hallen von jeweils fast 1000m2. Eine dieser Hallen wird der neue Standort von ‘Het Kunstcentrum’, das dort unter dem Namen ‘Art Zaanstad’ weitergeführt wird.

Separation wall between exhibition hall and private spaces.

Art Zaanstad fungiert als Galerie mit einer eigenen großen Sammlung, deren Werke gekauft oder ausgeliehen werden können. In wechselnden Ausstellungen werden einzelne Künstler vorgestellt oder neue Ankäufe präsentiert. Des Weiteren gibt es einen Museumsshop, in dem Design- und Kunstobjekte zum Kauf angeboten werden.

Hanging screens can be moved around to create different exhibition layouts.

Superuse hat ein funktionales, flexibles und zirkuläres Interieur entworfen.

The door towards the toilets is hidden in the trespa pattern.

Durch das geschickte Einfügen neuer Volumina entstehen zusätzliche Flächen, wobei die räumliche Qualität der Halle erhalten bleibt. Die Halle ist so gestaltet, dass der Besucher beim Betreten sofort einen guten Überblick bekommt und sich jederzeit orientieren kann: Geradeaus zum Gespräch mit einem Mitarbeiter von Art Zaanstad, nach rechts in die Ausstellung oder nach links direkt in den Shop.

The museum shop of Art Zaanstad.

Vom Büro aus ist der Ausstellungsbereich durch die Glasfassade gut einsehbar. So werden Mitarbeiter auf Kunden aufmerksam, die im Ausstellungsbereich Beratung wünschen. Wenn ein Besucher ein anderes Gemälde sehen möchte, wird er ins Depot oder die Bilderrahmenwerkstatt begleitet. Hier wird die große Zahl verfügbarer Werke direkt erfahrbar.

Sculpture garden and exhibition space.

Project Archive

Locations

Superuse Rotterdam
Maasboulevard 100 (BlueCity)
3063NS Rotterdam

+3110 4664 444
info@superuse-studios.com

Superuse Amsterdam
Korte Papaverweg 2c
(De Ceuvel)
1032KB Amsterdam

Superuse China
No.1 North, 3818 Warehouse
798 Art District, Beijing

+86 1324 1111 711
info@superuse-studios.cn


Superuse on Site (SOS)
For current location click here

Superuse Amsterdam
Korte Papaverweg 2c
(De Ceuvel)
1032KB Amsterdam

Foto van Art Zaanstad door Superuse, fotograaf Jos de Krieger

Art Zaanstad

Year

2017

Location

Zaandam

Client

Stichting Artzaanstad

Transformation of an old factory hall into a flexible exhibition space for the art library Art Zaanstad.

The Hembrug site is a unique place in Zaandam, with a distinct industrial architecture. The ‘draaierij kardoeshulzen’ or ‘building 322’ consists of two halls of almost 1000m2 each. each. One of these is intended as the new location for The Art Centre, which will stay in this fantastic place under the new name of Art Zaanstad.

Separation wall between exhibition hall and private spaces.

Art Zaanstad functions as a gallery/museum with its own large collection, which can be bought and rented in its entirety. Changing exhibitions make it possible to exhibit a different artist or new purchases every time. Besides the gallery, there is a museum shop where design and art articles are sold.

Hanging screens can be moved around to create different exhibition layouts.

Superuse has realised an interior that is functional, flexible and circular.

The door towards the toilets is hidden in the trespa pattern.

The clever use of volumes creates extra floor space, while the spatial quality of the hall is preserved. The hall is designed in such a way that upon entering, visitors immediately get a good overview of what is where. An Art Zaanstad employee can welcome you right in front of you, but a visitor can also walk to the left into the shop or to the right into the exhibition.

From the office, the exhibition area is visible through a connection with the glass façade.

The museum shop of Art Zaanstad.

This way, it is easy for someone to help out when it is busy. If a visitor wants to see a painting in the warehouse, he or she is accompanied to the warehouse and the framing department. Here they can experience the impressive number of works that are in stock.

Sculpture garden and exhibition space.
Back to project strategy
More info about the project
Previous project
Next projet

Project
Archive

Project view
Map view