Blade Made
Spielplatz Wikado

Year
2009

Location
Rotterdam

Client
Stiftung Kinderparadijs Meidoorn

Für die Stiftung "Kinderparadijs Meidoorn" hat Superuse einen neuen Spielplatz für das 1200 m2 große Grundstück entworfen. Dazu kartierte Superuse den alten Spielplatz, der sich in einem schlechten Gesamtzustand befand, und wählte die Elemente aus, die für eine Wiederverwendung im neuen Spielplatz geeignet waren. Nach diesem Schritt wurde ein Entwurf erstellt.

Lunch table, diving board and more.

Fünf ausrangierte Windmühlenflügel wurden um ein befestigtes, kreisförmiges Spielfeld herum angeordnet, um eine labyrinthische Struktur mit einem Panna Fußball-Käfig in der Mitte zu schaffen. Aus der Basis der Flügel entstanden vier Türme mit jeweils eigenem Charakter. Die abgesägten Teile sind im ganzen Garten verteilt und verbinden die Türme miteinander. Dazwischen ist ein Kletternetz gespannt, das auch verhindert, dass Bälle in den umliegenden Gärten landen.

Blade Made playground on the beach in Terneuzen.

Durch die Wiederverwendung werden etwa 90% an CO2-Emissionen im Vergleich zu einem normalen Spielplatz eingespart.

Boardwalk towards the playground.

Neben den Flügeln wurden auch die Rutschbahn und Pflastersteine wiederverwendet. Die Pflastersteine wurden vertikal verlegt, um die versiegelte Fläche zu verkleinern. Der vormals versteinerte Spielplatz erhielt einen Fallschutz aus Rindenmulch, wodurch auch starker Niederschlag besser versickern kann.

Die abstrakte Form der Flügel gibt Kindern die Freiheit, sich vorzustellen, wo und was sie spielen.

Blade turned into climbing structure.

Einmal sind sie Piraten auf einem Schiff, das nächste Mal Prinzessinnen in einem Schloss oder Kaninchen in einem Bau. Die größte Errungenschaft des Spielplatzes ist, dass die Kreativität der Kinder angesprochen wird.

Beautiful interior space for the playground in Rotterdam.

Locations

Superuse Rotterdam
Maasboulevard 100 (BlueCity)
3063NS Rotterdam

+3110 4664 444
info@superuse-studios.com

Superuse China
No.1 North, 3818 Warehouse
798 Art District, Beijing

+86 1324 1111 711
info@superuse-studios.cn

Superuse Amsterdam
Korte Papaverweg 2c
(De Ceuvel)
1032KB Amsterdam

Blade Made
Wikado playground

Year
2009

Location
Rotterdam

Client
Foundation Kinderparadijs Meidoorn

Superuse designed a new playground for a foundation called "Kinderparadijs Meidoorn" on their 1200m2 plot. The old playground was in a derelict state and in urgent need of renovation. Superuse mapped the old situation and carefully selected elements that were appropriate for reuse in the new playground. After this step the design was made.

Lunch table, diving board and more.

Five decommissioned rotor blades are placed around an existing concrete slab and they are used to create a maze-like space with a pentagonal panna (soccer) pitch in the middle. The base of the blades has been used as four towers, each with their own character. The cut off parts are spread around the garden and connect the towers. Between the towers a net provides an opportunity for climbing and is also preventing balls ending up in the backyards around the playground.

Blade Made playground on the beach in Terneuzen.

By reusing we are reducing carbon emissions with roughly 90% compared to a conventional playground.

Boardwalk towards the playground.

Besides the rotor blades there is more that has been reused, for example the stainless steel slides and the tiles of the pavement. The tiles have been used vertically, reducing the total surface to transform the stoney playground into a wood chip ground cover that is better equipped for heavy rainfall.

The abstract shape of the blades provides children with freedom to fantasize where and what they are playing.

Blade turned into climbing structure.

One time they might be pirates on a ship, on another day they are princesses in a castle or rabbits in a hole. Letting children use their own imagination is one of the best things this playground has achieved.

Beautiful interior space for the playground in Rotterdam.

Locations

Superuse Rotterdam
Maasboulevard 100 (BlueCity)
3063NS Rotterdam

+3110 4664 444
info@superuse-studios.com

Superuse China
No.1 North, 3818 Warehouse
798 Art District, Beijing

+86 1324 1111 711
info@superuse-studios.cn

Superuse Amsterdam
Korte Papaverweg 2c
(De Ceuvel)
1032KB Amsterdam